‘There was a time’ …

Ralph Vaughan Williams…

A pictoral journey

from the

Ursula Vaughan Williams.

Above: Illustrations from There was a Time…

Albion Music Logo

Albion Music is dedicated to publishing books mainly on English music and poetry, with additional publications on music generally if these are of relevance to our main theme. The company was formed in 1995 and was originally part of the Ralph Vaughan Williams Society. Under its Chairman Stephen Connock MBE, Albion Music is now wholly independent and will be focusing on books which will include Ralph Vaughan Williams alongside other composers.

Given our background in the Ralph Vaughan Williams Society, it is no surprise that our current titles reflect Vaughan Williams as well as the poetry of his second wife, Ursula. We were privileged to publish Ursula’s poems along with one of her short stories, Fall of Leaf, in 2003. We also published There was a time……, a collection of photos related to Vaughan Williams in this same year.

All our titles with the exception of Wilfrid Mellers’ Vaughan Williams and the Vision of Albion remain available at very competitive prices.

Albion Music has exciting and fascinating plans for future publications. We are in the process of publishing books devoted to two great Portuguese composers – Luis de Freitas Branco (1890 – 1955) and Joly Braga Santos (1924 – 1988) as well as other often unheralded but deserving composers. We will be bringing back to life major books on English music which have been long out of print and commissioning new books on English composers of the 20th century. Please visit our website regularly to see our latest range of exciting ventures.



Registered in England
No 03103770
98 High Street
Kent TN9 1BE